Meanwhile, In Canada…

I have found myself with a serious lack of motivation when it comes to writing posts about Canadian content. Sometimes I think since TOP is my blog, I can write about whatever I want. And since right now I seem to only be interested in the 2012 American presidential race, why shouldn’t I write about that.

However, then I think that perhaps I am being a poor Canadian. Each and every day we are bombarded by American news, music and entertainment. Our poor little country (of 30+ million) has enough trouble maintaining its image with such a powerful neighbour. So then my logic says that I should be writing nothing but Canadian content to offset the bombardment of American content.

What’s a blogger to do?

But in all seriousness, I just don’t know what to talk about. Sure there are two leadership races upcoming. The NDP race (from the limited attention I have given it) seems to be fairly interesting, but nothing extraordinary or groundbreaking has occurred. Who knows what the Liberals are up to, with regards to their leader… are they still relevant? I would say yes, but I suppose that is debatable. There is the Attawapiskat housing crisis, the appointment of new Senators, provincial news regarding Quebec, Alberta and such. Oh, and let’s not forget that Peter MacKay got married! Yet, nothing exciting enough to make me hit the keys (other than this rant).

I am sure there is something that will inspire me soon, but at the moment you might have to put up with an excessive amount of American content. Hopefully you won’t hold it against a proud Canadian.

About Chris James

A student of political science at a Canadian University sharing stories of interest on Canadian and American political and social issues.

Posted on January 9, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I hope I’m not being too presumptious, but as one Canadian political studies major to another, I would advise you to look outside the confines of Ottawa for the exciting bits of Canadian politics.

    The only real fun debates that come hot out of Parliament are when the government introduces controversial policies. Otherwise, it is a sleeper. More taste is to be had in the stories du jour, like Attawapiskat, the Can-EU trade agreement, the NDP and the Liberals’ attempts to reinvent themselves, and the border deal with America. Another good way to rid yourself of the dryness of Canadian official politics is to locate a story you know that is being spinned and distorted to no end by either the politicians or the media and then tear it apart with factual evidence.

    I would keep a close eye on Québec for the time being, what with Francois Legault and his CAQ poised to shake things up, after all.

    Strangely enough, though my blogging habits are still erratic, I have not so much as written one post about the US Presidential race. I guess I just find American politics to be too rhetorical, with not enough substance underneath. The partisan bombast seems to be merely a cover for the fact that without the sensationalism American federal politics can be much drier than its Canadian equivalent.

Leave a comment