How Many Can You Name?

I am sure many of you have seen the episode of Friends, where Ross attempts to name all 50 states, before he can eat Thanksgiving Dinner. In the end, it takes him a very long time, but he does name them all. I think many of us (both Canadian and American) have attempted to do the same thing. I know that during some of the more boring classes of my university career, I zoned out and attempted to name all 50 states. I have only done it successfully one time. I soon looked for a new challenge, so I decided to see how many Presidents and Prime Ministers I could name (since naming all ten provinces and three territories just doesn’t have the same level of difficulty).

Anyways, I wanted to extend the challenge to TOP readers. How many American Presidents and Canadian Prime Ministers can you name and how long did it take? Post a comment, and let me know.

I was able to do all the American Presidents in just under 5 minutes, but I am embarrassed to report I failed with the Canadian Prime Ministers. I was defeated by Sir Mackenzie Bowell, whose name eluded me. I eventually gave up and put google to work trying to figure out which PM I neglected to remember.

If you need any help (after getting stuck, as I did with the Canadian leaders) these links can help. Good luck!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Prime_Ministers_of_Canada
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_American_presidents

About Chris James

A student of political science at a Canadian University sharing stories of interest on Canadian and American political and social issues.

Posted on May 16, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This is a great idea! I couldn’t name more than 10 or 12 US presidents, but I could do the Canadians ones (in order) because of my abiding interest in Canadian history. Last year I developed this Prime Minister’s Cheat Sheet and wanted to share it with your readers.

    We produce historical fiction books for kids about our PMs as teens to get them interested in Canadian history earlier. Hope this is helpful…

    http://www.roderickbenns.com/documents/prime-minister-facts.pdf

  2. We would appreciate it…!

    Thank you,

    Roderick Benns

Leave a Reply

