Let’s vote!

So my mini-vacation turned out to be longer than I expected (in other words, I was being lazy, and not writing any new posts). But I am back at it now, and not a moment too late. Here we are in another election… the fourth in seven years. People are absolutely fed up with elections, and I honestly don’t blame them. Even someone such as myself, who lives for elections, is somewhat fatigued with the thought of another 37 days of campaigning, bickering and name calling.

However, the political nerd in me is THRILLED, and can’t wait for May 2nd. Election nights are my version of the SuperBowl. And since my team lost the SuperBowl this year, I am hoping my political party can pull off a win. Which one is it? Maybe I will reveal my choice at some point (even though I haven’t made up my mind 100% yet). But I generally vote for the same party, and unless something drastic happens, I will likely send them my vote again.

I am in the process of determining the best way to cover the election, without going overboard. So far what I am thinking is a weekly roundup of the events on the campaign trail, including where the leaders were, the issues discussed, and other pertinent information. I think this will be a weekly feature on Mondays, culminating in the final post on Monday, May 2nd where I might make my predictions for the composition of the government and the overall seat totals. I welcome you all to make your own predictions as well.

I would love to hear your thoughts on the upcoming election. Are you excited? Are you dreading it? Have you made up your mind about who to vote for? What issues are the most important to you? Which leader would you most like to grab a beer with? Post any of your thoughts, below and look forward to election roundups each Monday. Happy Campaigning!

P.S. On an unrelated note, the hits to this blog in the past weeks have been absolutely extraordinary. We had our second highest number of visits last Wednesday. I am so thankful for all of you that read, and I thank you for coming back each and every day.

About Chris James

A student of political science at a Canadian University sharing stories of interest on Canadian and American political and social issues.

Posted on March 28, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It may be rather unorthodox (and an almost-wasted vote) but I will be voting for the Green Party. Their entire party is full of “pizazz” and Elizabeth May is a strong leader.

    And their policies are good too!

    • A vote is never wasted. It may not be for the winning candidate, but each party gets money for every vote they receive. You are in essence giving Elizabeth May $1.95

  2. I’ve heard this so much….ANOTHER election. Despite thinking it is justified or not a look at past elections:

    2004 – Liberal Minority – Run Jean Run!
    2006 – Conservative Minority – Trigger –> adscam
    2008 – Conservative Minority – Trigger –> Conservatives claiming house was “unworkable”
    2011 – ?

    I don’t ‘blame’ one party over another but to me it would be due time for an election had we not had one in 2008. If people want to make a stink about wasteful elections I would say that was it.

  3. The problem with Canadian politics is beginning to show its ugly head now… with a Minority Government, the other parties just want to gain power rather than work with each other, and they constantly try to call an election with a vote of non-confidence. As a result, nothing gets done. With a Majority Government, the other parties have no voice because the leading party controls the house. I guess we will see what happens this time.

Leave a Reply

