More Nostalgic Campaign Paraphernalia

While I was writing the posts for the campaign commercials a couple of weeks back, I discovered I have a really big interest in campaign paraphernalia from years past. I find it really interesting to see the objects and advertising that candidates tried to use to put themselves into the highest political office in the United States. Additionally, last night my Dad and I were watching “American Pickers” on the History Channel (you can google them if you don’t know the premise of the show). They came across a collection of campaign buttons from past presidential campaigns. If it had been me, I would have snapped those up in a heartbeat, but for some crazy reason, they passed on them. After that I jumped onto eBay, and found there are quite a few retro buttons for sale. Maybe one day I will start my own collection, but for now I thought I would just feature some.

I sense many of you just rolled your eyes. He can’t seriously be writing about buttons, right? Yes, I am writing about buttons. But look at it this way, it is less of my writing, and more pictures, so there has to be some merit in that. I would have guessed that campaign buttons are an outdated form of political advertisement, yet there were buttons produced for the McCain and Obama campaigns in 2008. It is not often you see people walking around sporting buttons, but I suppose if you are going to a rally or convention, they are a cheap and easy way to show which political team you are playing for. I would anticipate seeing a whole new crop of buttons to appear in 2012. They appear to be around for the foreseeable future. Here are some buttons from past campaigns.








Stay tuned for a fascinating post on bumper stickers… just kidding!

About Chris James

A student of political science at a Canadian University sharing stories of interest on Canadian and American political and social issues.

Posted on March 1, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Scotland_Yard

    I think the buttons are quite interesting! Very cool. Are there any Canadian campaign buttons out there?

Leave a Reply

